top of page
Search

Year In Review 2020 - 2021

Unexpected Quarentine


I think it is fair to say that this year has been far different than any of us possibly expected. This year has been one of constant changing plans, including rescheduling my wedding, mental health challenges, financial concerns, and new hobbies. Without a doubt, this year has been one that has provided the background for tremendous personal growth and self-realization. Additionally, this year has allowed me to work on my photography skills and improve as a visual artist. Despite the challenges I am incredibly grateful for the lessons learned.


 

Canyonlands National Park


After my fiance and myself received our vaccinations, we were able to travel (with proper precautions) to the Moab region of Utah. After a year of city living and essentailly only seeing the inside of my apartment, the wide open spaces of canyon provided a much needed breath of fresh air and space. I've always loved exploring the outdoors and my experience at the park further solidified that love and desire to ensure the ongoing preservations of our public places. Few places have inspired the awe that Canyonlands did and I am desperate to return and continue my exploration of the park. Without a doubt, there are an infinite number of places that provide a reason to wake up at 4:00 am and set up a camera.



 

Collegiate Peaks Photography


It seems that everywhere I go someone will say, "if you don't like the weather just wait 10 minutes." That statement is generally followed by the almost ever present, "we have the worst drivers in the country." But, I have come to find that in the mountains, 10 minutes really does make a difference. I am increadly grateful for the oppurtunites I have had this year to photograph and explore the Rocky Mountains in Colorado as I conducted research in the area. In particular, the Collegiate range has provided the backdrop to of perfecting my photography, editing, and wildlife skills.




 

Capstone Research


During the 2020 - 2021 academic year, I researched the Rocky Flats Plant in Colorado for my History Capstone projet. Covid restrictions made this research incredibly difficult as to gain access to many primary and secondary documents was nearly impossible. I took two seperate multi-week trips to the Denver area in an effort to gain first hand knowledge and conduct interviews. However, constantly changeing restricitons at public libraries and univiersities created numerous challenges that became valuable lessons. Despite covid restriction, a number of individuals in Colorado, and professors here at UC, helped in invaluable ways to ensure that I could thoroughly research the consequences of long term radioactive fallout in the Denver area. This process has been invaluable due to the information I gained, the realization of how difficult it can be to source materials, and the self-knowledge I gained about my future career plans regarding Environmental History.



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Covid 19 Pre-Approved Experience

This experience was far diffferent than I originally expected. During this time, I interviewed numerous high school students and their families about their experiences and academic changes that result

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page