top of page
Search

Veteran Outreach on Campus


This experience has proved to be far more unique and informative than I expected. For nearly six months, I worked with the Veteran Programs and Services office to develop activities and outreach programs that the University of Cincinnati veteran population could participate in and enjoy. Working this population provided unique challenges due to the aversion of "mandatory fun" that myself and many others work very hard to avoid after our time in service. Additionally, the unique times of Covid isolation and social distancing, as well as a whole new rulebook for online class, furthered the learning opportunities that this experience provided.


Engaging with the veteran population was far more easy during normal times, especially when the opportunity to compete against each other was provided (namely Mario Cart). Providing this same level of interaction via zoom or other platforms was a steep learning curve and one that I will have to continue working on. Our annual 9/11 memorial run, a staple of fundraising and remembrance, had to be cancelled and re-evaluated to provide our veteran population and other participants to engage. Over time, I learned that to gain traction for our events, I needed to use social media to a much greater extent in order to gain the attention that a conversation in our lounge would have normally provided. This increased effort also led me to ponder the effects of social isolation in other communities, namely retirement homes and the isolated elderly, and I hope to continue my education in these areas so I can benefit those who may be experiencing deep seated loneliness due to isolation.




15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Covid 19 Pre-Approved Experience

This experience was far diffferent than I originally expected. During this time, I interviewed numerous high school students and their families about their experiences and academic changes that result

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page